Mining Cole, Part Four

Organic Church was published in 2005. It was written by Neil Cole. He tells the story of how he and his group of believers reached out to the Los Angeles area in evangelism. What transpired eventually was the establishment of Awakening Chapels, Cole’s name for organic church California-style.

My copy came to me at the recommendation of an associate pastor of my church in 2008. I took one look at it and tossed it on my shelf unread, why? Because I thought it was all about Cell Ministry. My wife and I led cell groups at my church for seven years and attended them for way more years than that. Sometime after May this year I was enticed to finally read my copy, maybe through Shaine Claiborne’s book Irresistible Revolution.

During my reading, I made copious notes and underlines and flyleaf inscription. Here are a few of those notations and quotes. Let’s mine a little Cole for Christmas.

From the chapter The Zombie Bride Lives!: The most insidious thing about self deception is that you don’t know when you are deceived. NC – Neil Cole, p33

It is time for the Church to get her hands dirty in the soil of lost people’s lives. NC, p 35

Jesus’ plan was to decentralize, and He paid a dear price to make it possible. NC, p 44

Jesus said it was our “love one for another” that would identify us as His disciples. NC, p. 48, John 13:35

It is much more vital to look at the Scripture with honesty and courage as we try to define church. NC, p.49

Often missing from our definition of church is: Jesus. p. 50

In our organic church movement, we have come to understand church as this: the presence of Jesus among His people called out as a spiritual family to pursue His mission on this planet. NC, p.53

For where two or three have gathered together in My name, there I am in their midst. Matt. 18:20, p.54 To me this is the simplest definition of church. Bruce

If you do not plant the seed, you will never have a harvest – never. NC, p.62

About Bruce Dickey

Guitarmaker and follower of Christ. Luthier since 1996. Christ follower since 1957. dickeyguitars.com Russellville, Arkansas, USA. James 1:27 Visit the widow and the fatherless. They might just need you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mining Cole, Part Four

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Mining Cole, Part Four | Church, Organically Simple -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Neil Cole Quotes from Organic Church | Church, Organically Simple

Leave a Reply

