A Spiritual House, A Holy Priesthood

1 Peter 2:4-5 As you come to him, the living Stone – rejected by men but chosen by God and precious to him – you also, like living stones are being built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood offering spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.

1 Peter 2:9 But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.

Peter an apostle of Jesus Christ to God’s elect, strangers in the world, scattered….. chosen according the foreknowledge of God the Father, through the sanctifying work of the Spirit, for obedience to Jesus Christ and sprinkling by his blood: Grace and peace be yours in abundance. (paraphrase of 1 Peter 1:1-2)

Peter so beautifully paints with words who we are in Christ, we are priests, part of a priesthood, a spiritual family. So, being like Jesus, we too are after the order of Melchizedek, not Levi. Believers are not Levites who were the priests of the old covenant. No we are part of a new house, a spiritual house, built on better promises, we are a holy priesthood, we belong to God.

This passage applies to every believer of Jesus Christ under the New Testament, paid for with his shed blood. So priest, what are we going to do today? The bible leaves us a few suggestions? No, commandments. Love God, love man, very simple. So God loved us, it’s fairly easy to love him back. Man on the other hand, not so easy, this is the test of a disciple, loving man who may not love in return. This is a principle of investment, of giving, of sowing, of cultivation, of hope, and finally of obedience.

Then there is the commission to go. We are told the fields are white unto harvest and to pray to the Lord of the Harvest for laborers. While we are praying are we secretly hoping that God will send someone else, not you and I but someone else? Our prayer must include ourselves. We too must be planted, we too must be willing to be pregnant with the gospel. We must be willing to die in order to bring forth much fruit, 30 60 and 100 fold fruit.

Can we make ourselves do it? That is a great question. Are we willing to believe it enough to the point of being a living sacrifice to God? Lord I believe, help me in my unbelief! He has walked this pathway before us, it is narrow, the multitudes choose another path, the wide path. It’s our choice.

Bless you Lord Jesus for calling our names, the voice of a stranger we will not follow. Amen.

About Bruce Dickey

Guitarmaker and follower of Christ. Luthier since 1996. Christ follower since 1957. dickeyguitars.com Russellville, Arkansas, USA. James 1:27 Visit the widow and the fatherless. They might just need you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Spiritual House, A Holy Priesthood

  1. Kyle Knapp says:

    Great stuff, Bruce, I love it!

    However, I take minor issue with some phrases in your final paragraph “are we willing to believe it enough…” – “it’s your choice…” Not that I disagree, exactly, but I’ve been pondering the nature of belief over the past few years. In much of my “religious” I was instructed to “choose” to believe various things, and even subtly encouraged to “psych myself up” or even put on a show of believing, even though my mind was not fully convinced. I’m no longer certain that choice has anything to do with belief. We simply believe what we are convinced is true, and are pretty much helpless to do otherwise.

    Willingness, however, is perhaps a bit different from choice, in that while I can’t make myself believe something I don’t, I can open my heart and give the holy spirit permission to teach/convict me.

    The guy in the gospel story said “Lord I believe, help me my unbelief!” If I am honest, I find myself much more often praying “Lord, I DON’T believe – If You want me to believe this, YOU need to do something.”

  2. Bruce Dickey says:

    Excellent response Kyle. Even Jesus disciples who saw him after his resurrection doubted, and not just Thomas, although he get’s the rap.

    I love the way my granddaughter of 2 years old throws herself into my arms from the kitchen counter with wreckless abandon, she has no reason to doubt I will catch her.

    Many of us have jumped in faith and landed in the middle of the floor bruised and bleeding.

    I hope I never miss my granddaughter or that she jumps when I’m not looking.

Leave a Reply

